> > Speaker Biographical Information

Harold Dvorak

Title of talk: "VPF/VEGF, Angiogenesis and Stroma Formation: The Tumor Vasculature as Therapeutic Target"

Summary of talk: Solid tumors are not simply bags of tumor cells. Rather, they are comprised of two distinct compartments: the malignant cells themselves and the benign, vascularized connective tissue stroma that supports the malignant cells. Tumors must generate stroma if they are to grow beyond minimal size. This talk will discuss some of the mechanisms by which tumors induce their stroma and compare these with the mechanisms by which stroma forms in healing wounds and in chronic inflammatory diseases. If time permits, it will also consider the potential of the tumor vasculature as an attractive therapeutic target.

Short biosketch: Dr. Harold F. Dvorak is a physician-scientist who is best known for his discovery of vascular permeability factor (VPF, now more generally known as VEGF-A), and, more recently, for his studies into the mechanisms of tumor stroma generation and the heterogeneity of the tumor vasculature. He is a graduate of Princeton University and Harvard Medical School and received training in Pathology at Massachusetts General Hospital. He has been a member of the Harvard Pathology faculty since 1967 and served as Chair of Pathology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center for 26 years. He is currently Mallinckrodt Professor of Pathology emeritus at Harvard Medical School.

Dr. Dvorak is a member of many professional societies, has served on NIH, American Cancer Society and Veteran's Administration study sections, on many Journal boards and editorships, and has been president of the New England Society of Pathologists and the American Society for Investigative Pathology. He has been elected to a number of honorary societies including the Pluto Club and the Collegium Internationale Allergologicum. He is an elected fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science and of the National Foundation for Cancer Research and is an elected member of the Association of American Physicians. He has been invited to deliver numerous named lectureships and has received several prestigious awards including the Rous-Whipple award (2002) of the American Society for Investigative Pathology; the Lefoulon-Delalande Grand Prix of the French Academy of Sciences (2005); the Szent-Gyorgyi Prize for progress in cancer research (2006); the Earl P. Benditt Award of the North American Vascular Biology Organization (2007); and the Canada Gairdner International Award (2014).